banner-47

Note

Writing Obituary

Shyamaprasad Bhattacharjee

I was born in West Bengal. I grew up in its lush green meadows, dreamed on the banks of Hooghly. I went to primary school, sitting on straw mats and memorizing poems, tables and instruction by heart. After schools, my friends and I rushed half way Home and went to play ground. When we felt specially daring, we would skip the entire day of school to play friendly matches. The elders at my home transported me by telling stories to the era of tales. The Bengal was full of joyful life, full of love and amity amongst the people cutting across caste, creed, religion and language. Today anarchy dominates everything.

Not long ago, a friend of mine asked me what kind of things, I write. It came to my mind that I have been writing obituaries for the last five years or more, only characters, contents and place change, the stories are always same, full of misery and tears. When present government lavish all their time for their self claimed success, in my loneliness, my mind captures the past, how this government cleared the way to climb political power of Bengal. I shudder to horrifying sight—lying of corpse of Slain Salaku Soren, left activist, for days together, courtesy left extremists and right reactionaries. The 15th Lok Sabha elections were held in the background of sustained murderous attacks on Left Front activists. Around 388 cadres and supporters were killed after the Lok Sabha elections in May 2009 till the present government came to power in May 2011, thousands left activists were driven from their homes, hospitalized some of them were crippled forever, burning of left offices were a regular sight, conduct of political activities were near impossibility. The silent terror griped the state. The Maoists resorted to targeted assassinations and struck terror in the Jangal Mahal region in coordination with present party in power. The grief is still deep, the rage still sharp and tears have not dried. The no